Yesterday, I did the Windows update on work computer. When I restarted the computer, the little script that runs every time when I log into company network thought there was some kind of virus and said the computer would be shut down.

I called our help desk guys and they thought there was a virus too. From past experience, I knew it must be the update, the company hasn’t done anything on the server to prepare for this update. The help desk people spent all day trying to fix the problem and even rebuilt the computer. At the end, they asked their manager and found out that the update caused the problem, but there was no harm to the network.

At the end of the day, I told my colleague that there was no virus on the computer, it was just the update. She said two support guys spent whole day just trying to fix problem and kind of blaming me for running the update. Well, what ever.

