According to today’s exchange rate, I’m earning more than 1,000K Taiwan dollars in a year, but it doesn’t feel like it. 1/3 of my income goes to tax before I actually see them, the rest go into rent, bills, and daily necessities. I’m also trying to save for my own place. Apparently things are more expensive here than Taiwan, so I’m not as rich as the figure showed. Sometimes I even wonder if I could be categorized as middle income class, because it feels like I’m actually in the lower income level.

When Dad was here two weeks ago, he mentioned that he may have to retire this July, when he reaches 60. I can’t support my parents, after all of what they have invested in me. Supporting me through all these years, sending me overseas, and always there for me. I feel ashamed, I haven’t been able to repay them.

Maybe I could save more money if I lived with someone else. But it’s going to be difficult, been living by myself for such a long time, I wonder if I can actually live with another human. Maybe it wouldn’t be a problem if it’s a huge place, but the rent may end up with the same amount if not more.

Of course I can spend all my savings, go travel, send money to my parents, or many other things. But I don’t want to live in fear. What if I loose my job one day and couldn’t find another one in time?

The result of my performance review was good, but it cost me a lot. I don’t know if it actually worth all of what I put in.

I’m hoping that I will win a big lotto one day, what a dream.

