Another New Year just passed, wasn’t able to spend Chinese New Year with family this year. May not be able to go back home for Chinese New Year for many years until I change the job. Dad was here on Chinese New Year’s Eve that day, so I was happy to have dinner with him. It was a very simple dinner, we didn’t have much time because dad had to get ready to fly back to Taiwan. However, it was better than nothing.

It was so hot in Sydney that week, I didn’t bother to move at all. Luckily, there was a cool change on Sunday, so I went to Chinatown hoping to see something there. There were lion dancing everywhere, I saw 4 lions in total. I don’t think I’d ever seen a lion dance during Chinese New Year in Taiwan. I wonder if the further away I am from home, the more I want to celebrate Chinese New Year.

Besides having dinner with Dad on Chinese New Year’s Eve, I had Yum Cha with my colleagues on Friday. It started with my boss said that we should celebrate Chinese New Year, mainly for me, by making stir-fry at work. Then I said “nah, let just go Yum Cha”. Then it was set. Besides my little team, I also invited few people from another team because one of them is from China. The food was alright, it was really hot in the restaurant, but I had no complaints. I had 年糕!!!

Haven’t had any 年糕 for don’t know how many years. I can’t even remember when was the last time I had 年糕. For some reason, I really wanted to have 年糕 this year, nearly bought a small one at the shop one day. I don’t know how to cook it though. The one I had was the most basic kind, just the normal sweet flavour, but I liked it so much.

Unlike previous years, I didn’t stay up until midnight. I couldn’t, had the work the next day. As there are so many Chinese all over the world, I think every country should have Chinese New Year as public holiday.

